Whatever Happened To Those Heroes ? Squeeze Rise To The Challenge

Whatever Happened To The Protest Band

Now I am nearly 50 and in my important years of growing up I took to Punk Rock. Great protest bands, the Clash, Stiff Little Fingers, Dead Kennedys, post punk, Rock Against Racism and indie as young people such as myself related to the musical movement that poked fun at the system. I remember a Save the GLC gig at County Hall being halted as the National Front invaded the stage as a clearly shocked singer of the Smiths watches also somewhat bemused. Then you sort of grow up and your principles are destroyed by the promises of Blair as your spirit is tamed and mediocrity and quasi- Toryism becomes acceptable.

I can’t pretend to be au fait with the bands of today although I am kept abreast by my co conspirator on the fanzine, Chris, half my age.

So what am I alluding to. Well the protest band is apparently still alive as Squeeze hijacked the smug Marr show and humiliated Cameron, too dim-witted of course to realise.

So a band from my era are still left to carry the flag of the protest song.

I am utterly proud as Squeeze are the shirt sponsors of my football club Lewes FC, where I help write fanzine. They recently did a fund raiser in Lewes Town Hall before their last tour and we have a very uncorporate tie up with them. Not sure we make much money or what is in it for them but hey ho.

Lewes is funny. It is often mooted in the press as the typical middle class town. In the 13th Century though the Battle of Lewes was influential in the creation of British democracy and Thomas Paine resided here. Middle Class it is but a stroll down Grange Road, house values £500-850 k at the last election saw the election poster count Green 7 Labour 7 Lib Dem and Tory fat zero.

A very middle class protest it was and let’s face it the concern of Lewesians is not council estates but the invasion of DFL’s….down from Londeners forcing locals out of the town as house prices rocket. But it was heartfelt by Tilbrook and has highlighted an issue of concern and must of pissed off the Tory High Command and that’s what protest bands should do 10/10

Apologies for crap grammar

#squeeze

 

Leave a comment